Beta Tau

Beta Tau was installed with 58 charter members - 14 collegiate and 44 alumnae initiates. They began as social sorority Sigma Delta Theta, which organized in 1920. Beta Tau has been outstanding in scholarship from the onset with numerous members in the scholastic fraternity and others being tapped into Mortar Board. Rainey Gates Stitzlein was the first woman to serve as chair of the university Board of Trustees. Dorothy Roeger Hartz served for many years on the House Corporation and Dorothy Scott Rasicci was a long-serving local and international officer. The chapter has received the Golden Lion Award three times. Linda Lane Mahan and Melissa Wenk Wilkinson have long service records as does international officer Teresa Strong Good.