Beta Theta

The second Canadian chapter, Beta Theta, was installed in 1930, with 13 charter members. The group grew out of local sorority Theta Rho Kappa, and became the eighth NPC group at the university. Beta Theta remains a strong chapter, routinely pledging "real" family members - mothers, sisters, aunts, cousins. Beta Theta alumna Sister Geraldine MacNamara established the Rossbrook House, a model self-help community resource center in Winnipeg and as a result received the Order of Canada, the government's highest award. A chapter president in the early 1980s, Jodi Rutledge reigned as Miss Canada in 1983. Mary Ramage Boyd Curtis served as Manitoba State Membership Chairman for 15 years and as a Regional Alumnae Director. Donna Mae Tully Yeo followed in her footsteps, in the same offices, with another long record of service. Joanne Holm Unruh has served as an advisor, Province Director and the 1975 Convention Program Chair.