Beta Xi

Beta Xi chapter, which began as local Zeta Chi, was installed in 1933 as the 10th sorority on campus. The chapter was active on campus and in the community, set near the beautiful Mount Sentinel. Two outstanding alumnae include Dr. Aloha Hannah, who was a scientist and member of the Atomic Energy Commission, and Lois Howard Larson, who received many accolades in the education field. The chapter closed in 1943 during World War II when the university took over their rented house to use for housing. Upon closing, several members affiliated with Upsilon chapter at Washington State. Muriel Nelson and Margaret Lewis Maness both served for many years as Montana State Membership Chairmen.