Delta Alpha

National sororities had a unique beginning at Emory University when 10 social club presidents gathered at a chartering ceremony on May 8, 1959, and each club was delivered their respective national sorority's charter. Delta Alpha, which was installed the next day, had been social club Adelphean since 1954 when Omicron member Ellen Doss transferred to Emory from Duke and founded the society with the goal of becoming Alpha Delta Pi. In anticipation of a chapter being installed in the state of our founding, the name Delta "Alpha" was held for the chapter to honor "Alpha" chapter; therefore, Delta Alpha was installed after Delta Epsilon rather than after Gamma Omega as the usual sequence would dictate. In 1973, the first sorority lodges were dedicated, and new ones were dedicated in 2006. Delta Alpha is consistently highest in campus scholarship and in 2000 was recognized as having the highest GPA of any Alpha Delta Pi chapter with a 3.58 GPA. The chapter won the Golden Lion Award in 1983. Pamela Bean, Epsilon Omicron - Murray State, was a long-serving advisor. Charlene Nigaglioni, Jennifer Smith Dickinson, Sue Armstrong Martino and Jayne Cassidy Jett have long service records.