Eta Nu

Saint Louis University is a private Catholic university founded in 1818 by Bishop DuBourg as the first university west of the Mississippi River. The chapter began in 1928 as local sorority Delta Epsilon Phi. Their name was changed to Kappa Beta Phi in 1933 when they were formally organized for the purpose of promoting scholastic endeavors and social unity. Eta Nu was colonized from these beginnings in 1988 by Chris Stecher Dickey and Frances Poulson Hall who both served as Province Directors at the time. The chapter initiated 39 women their first year. For many years, the chapter had a unique two-part philanthropy program: 1) each collegian commits to one location of interest to volunteer weekly and 2) each member volunteers at two chapter-sponsored philanthropy events each semester.