Eta Phi

In 1981, Furman lightened its policy regarding national sororities, allowing three social clubs to be founded. One, the Delphian Society, followed many values, ideals and traditions of Alpha Delta Pi. Then in the fall of 1993, when the university lifted the sorority ban, the Delphian Society heard just on presentation - that of Alpha Delta Pi. Colonization began in January 1994, culminating with the initiation of 82 collegians and 44 Delphian alumnae in March. Chapter houses are not allowed, but about 20 members live on the sorority dorm floor. The group excels in scholarship and campus involvement. Jenifer Melin Fielding and Courtenay Loughlin Williams, both Eta Phi members who also were Delphians served for many years. Other long-serving advisors include Valerie Shafer Bynum, Epsilon Omega - Jacksonville, Dee Phife Buford, Gamma Upsilon - North Texas and Dede Hines Ward, Beta Epsilon - South Carolina, who also served as Exhibits co-chair for the 150th Convention. International officer Jennifer Brown Arends, Beta Sigma - Mercer, also is a long-serving advisor.