Alpha Alpha

Kappa Delta Pi was founded in 1913 with the intent to petition a national sorority, and a year later, the local was installed as Alpha Alpha chapter. The chapter owned several houses before trading a Spanish-style house to Lambda Chi Alpha for a desirable lot across the street from the university gardens. A contemporary house was completed in 1958. Alpha Alpha closed in 1972, and the house was rented to several groups. The chapter was reinstalled in 1981 with the strong encouragement of the university; however, low numbers caused thee chapter to close again in 1985. Former Grand Council member Virginia Neal Blue served as Treasurer of the State of Colorado, and is one of two women honored with a stained glass window in the Colorado Capitol Building. She was the first woman to serve as President of the University of Colorado Board of Trustees and she was named Alumna of the Year in 1953 while Kathryne Shaefer Marr won the honor in 1957. Gracie May McNeil Weethee served in many capacities, including Province President and Convention Manager for the 1921 Convention. Rosalyn Doze Williams has a long service record, including serving on Grand Council. Dianne Liston Letson also has a long record of local and national service.