Alpha Gamma

Alpha Gamma chapter made its debut in 1915 as the eighth national sorority on campus. Jessie Rogers, Upsilon - Washington State, had transferred and was instrumental in the chartering. Several houses were rented in the early years; however, in 1923 an ideal site was purchased in a new subdivision. The house was completed in 1927, and with a purchase of an annex and an expansion in the 1950s, the chapter continues to flourish. The "Wishing Wells" song was written by Jean Lane and Esther Witt Ferry for preference in the 1930s, and then published in the 1936 national song book. At the chapter's 75th anniversary in 1990, a scholarship was established through the Foundation. Former Grand President Caralee Strock Stanard authored the Creed and served as Adelphean Editor as did Vivian Hannan Keltner and Betty McCarty Niccolls. Vecie May Tillotson served on Grand Council. Peggy Woods Vaughn and Kristi Baer Cooper have long records of local and international service. Leola "Lee" Schmidt Planje and June Wuest Becht served in numerous roles as did Mabel Ruth Bandy Anheuser who was Alumna of the Year in 1965.