Alpha Kappa

In June 1917, a local sorority was founded, Satim Bama Pimatisewin. Alpha Kappa was installed from those roots. The chapter occupied a dorm floor, a brick duplex, a Panhellenic suite and in 1964 relocated to a suite in a new Panhellenic Building. University land was prepared for sorority houses and Alpha Kappa built a home for 50 women which the chapter moved into in 2012. The street leading into the area is named for Ann Baker Furrow. Alpha Kappa donated a foundation to honor the chapter's 50th anniversary; it flows in front of the Clarence Brown Theater. The chapter has had many Torchbearers, the highest honor given to an undergraduate. Alpha Kappa has received the Golden Lion Award nine times. Ann Baker Furrow was the first woman to play on a varsity golf team and receive a full athletic scholarship at UT, first woman and youngest member of UTs Board of Trustees and spearheaded the first women's golf team at UT. Dr. Alberta Lowe Wantling was named Alumna of the Year in 1959. Grand Council members include Mary Currier Allen, Katherine "Kitty" Bolt Wilson and Maryann Friend Gillespie who also was Executive Director, a member of the 150th Anniversary Committee and a Foundation Trustee. Elizabeth "Lib" Keen Crabtree served as international officer and an advisor for many years. A former Province President, Emily Lusby Mackebee, was on Ronald McDonald House's International Advisory Board for more than 15 years and was the 1997 Alumna of the Year for Community Service. Her daughter, Mimi Mackebee Moran, assisted with the chapter history section of Sisters. Chapter advisor Ellen Long Liston is the current Adelphean Feature Editor, a position she's held for 25 years. Her grandmother, Katie Bell Scruggs House, and Sara Line Roos also have long-service records. Cammy Owens Kromer, Eta Phi - Furman, Cheryl Roy Kizer Sharpe, Becky Ghormley Eaker, Joy Georges McCabe, Janet Wedekind Curry and Mary Ann Coon Condry, Epsilon Psi - Tennessee Tech, also have long service records to Alpha Kappa.