In 1898, Entre Nous society was formed to protest the exclusiveness of the existing sororities at Boston University. In 1909, the name changed to Delta Chi Omicron, and as conditions on campus changed, they decided to become national, affiliating with Alpha Delta Phi. In 1920, the university threatened to abolish sororities; however, Rho remained strong on campus. Rho participated in all aspects of college life for over 60 years but closed in 1965 due to decreasing numbers. Rho became active again in 1987 and won Greek Week just one month after installation. Rho is home to former Grand President Minnie Allen Hubbard and Grand Council members Dorothy Pierpont Shaw and Ethel Thayer. Long-serving officers include Helen Janson Kraus, Natilee Martson, Caroline Daly Nylen and Christine Ebsen Lortz, who established the Lortz Legacy Grants and was a founder of the Dandy Lions.