Alpha Theta

Alpha Theta began as local sorority Alpha Delta in 1915. The chapter occupied several houses, building the current house in 1950. Alumna Jeanette Barrows, a World War I nurse who died from pneumonia while on duty at Ft. Snelling, has been honored with a gold star on the University's Service Flag, a tree in memorial lane and her name is listed with the male heroes on the entrance pillar to campus. She is the only female honored as a university war hero. Noreen Salvino Skagen was appointed by President Reagan as a U.S. Marshal, one of only three women Marshals at that time. Other notable alumnae include Emmy award winning actress Jean Smart and Catherine E. H. Van Winkle Palmer, who was the first woman to receive a PhD. in Paleontology at Cornell. Alpha Theta was home to Grand President Emeritus Maxine Blake whose devotion to Alpha Delta Pi spanned more than 75 years. Also serving on Grand Council and as NPC Chairman was Virginia Friese Jacobsen, who led the Title IX battle in the 1970s to ensure that sororities would remain single-sex organizations. She was Alumna of the Year in 1961. Alumna Dorothy Lundgren Lee served as convention manager for 26 years. Alpha Theta received the Golden Lion Award in 1991. In 1999, the award was renamed thee Maxine Blake Golden Lion Award in honor of Miss Blake's 75 years of membership. Amy Hals Asplund is a long-serving international officer.